The Lake Village Book Club gathered to form the Lake Village Memorial Township Library in 1944 to serve as a living memorial to the local soldiers of WWII. The group collected two hundred books and over $200 to use for the Library. The first Library was housed in an unused basement classroom at Lake Village Elementary School, and Mrs. Dorothy Arbuckle was hired to serve as Librarian.
Each family in the community was assessed $1 per year until 1946, when the Library was approved as a free township Library by the State of Indiana. In 1947 the Library was moved into Lloyd Arbuckle’s building, and a lovely wooden book sign was made. That sign is located in the present Lake Township Room at Lake Village Memorial Township Library.
The Lake Township community raised funds and goods in 1960 to build a new Library on land donated by Angelus and Helen Kocoshis. The men of Lake Village built a 2,300 square foot concrete block building, completed with shelving, tables and chairs. The Lake Village Book Club raised funds to buy office equipment, new books, and supplies, and this new Library was opened in 1962, and used as the community’s Library until 2006, when the Library was moved into its present building.
Lake Village Memorial Township Library offers an expanded space for its collection, and boasts private study rooms, a community room capable of seating 55, display cases, and children’s programming space. The Lake Township Room has many local history resources, including past editions of “The Villager” newspaper, information about Jennie Conrad, and local native artifact information. The Kocoshis family donated an engraved black marble stone that graced the front of the original Library, to the right of the entrance. That stone was moved to the lobby of the Lake Village Memorial Township Library when the new facility was built in 2005.